Thread: Hello

Default Hello

Hey,
    I am new to the Acend Line of products. I have an opportunity to purchase a set of CBM-170's for $85. They are not the newer SE, so they are probably over 12 years old. My question is, are the older CBM-170 speakers worth it, or should I wait and purchase the newer SE design? I figure for $85. I can't go wrong. At a minimum ill get a chance to experience what Ascend has to offer at a very low cost.

Default Re: Hello

Quote Originally Posted by JWill View Post
    Hey,
    I am new to the Acend Line of products. I have an opportunity to purchase a set of CBM-170's for $85. They are not the newer SE, so they are probably over 12 years old. My question is, are the older CBM-170 speakers worth it, or should I wait and purchase the newer SE design? I figure for $85. I can't go wrong. At a minimum ill get a chance to experience what Ascend has to offer at a very low cost.
    Those are the speakers that put Ascend on the map. I don't how indicative it would be of what Ascend has to offer now as a lot has changed, but they are still good speakers, especially for $85 (for the pair?).
    If they are in good shape, I would snap them up.

Maybe call Ascend and see if they can be upgraded to the SE.
    -curtis

Curtis,

Thank you for the reply. I have searched, and the only difference I can find is a change to the tweeter in the SE. These will potentially replace a set of Polk s15's. After all the praise these speakers have received from reviewers and users, I have high hopes for them. Yes, $85 for the pair.

Curtis,

Thank you for the reply. I have searched, and the only difference I can find is a change to the tweeter in the SE. These will potentially replace a set of Polk s15's. After all the praise these speakers have received from reviewers and users, I have high hopes for them. Yes, $85 for the pair.
    In the SE the woofer is also different, as is the crossover.

$85/pr and in good shape....jump on it.
    -curtis