PDA

View Full Version : Sierra 1 NRT vs Sierra 2 for casual listening

gtijimmy
07-25-2015, 10:53 AM
Hello, I am new to the speaker and general hi-fi audio community. I would really like to invest in a good stereo system that will wow me. I think the Sierra speakers are a perfect match. I am just stuck between which Sierra's to get, the Sierra 1, Sierra NRT or Sierra 2. Any help would be greatly appreciated. A little background info...

I am moving into an apartment in the fall and will generally be using the speakers for music, of which includes: hip-hop, pop, jazz, classical, alternative, rap. I will be doing some direct listening but ambient listening will occur often too. I am looking for speakers that will evoke emotion out of me, so not necessarily for extreme critical listening. I was looking at the KEF LS50 but it seems like you need a very strong amp to properly power those (and they also look funky). Here is the layout of the apartment with the living room being the place where the 2.0 setup will be:

Thanks in advance.

Blutarsky
07-26-2015, 06:07 PM
Yikes! Those windows and floorplan are going to be trouble. Heavy drapes maybe.
Can I assume that the TV is that box on the left wall?
Sierra-1 speakers are very good. Maybe CBM 17 170's?

B.

natetg57
07-26-2015, 08:06 PM
I think the Sierra-2s provoke the greatest emotional response because of their realism. They sound really good when not in the sweet spot as well. Sounds like I have live music coming from the next room over.

gtijimmy
07-26-2015, 10:02 PM
Yikes! Those windows and floorplan are going to be trouble. Heavy drapes maybe.
Can I assume that the TV is that box on the left wall?
Sierra-1 speakers are very good. Maybe CBM 17 170's?

B.
Yes, the TV is the box on the left wall. I looked at the CBM 17 170's but I feel as though I would always wonder what the Sierra's would have sounded like if I got those.

Is the NRT upgrade worth it on the Sierra 1?