PDA

View Full Version : Ported speakers, group delay, and running CBM-170SEs full-range

tomker
04-03-2015, 07:10 PM
Hi guys, I'm pretty new to audio and have a couple of questions. Thanks in advance for any thoughts on the subject.

Am I correct in thinking that the sound coming out of a speaker's port is delayed by a wavelength?

If so, wouldn't that "muddle" the sound? And if so, wouldn't the only way to avoid this muddling be to filter out the lower frequencies going to the speaker?

The reason I'm asking is because I currently have a sound bar with a subwoofer. Most of the sound from the subwoofer seems to come from the port. It's definitely impressive (great for explosions!!) but otherwise I don't feel like it's coherent. It definitely seems to muddle the lower frequencies of male speech.

So I have this idea that I want to move away from a subwoofer and get bigger stereo speakers like the CBM-170SEs instead. I'm willing to trade some low-frequency extension for coherency. But the CBM-170SEs are ported and seem to get pretty substantial bass reinforcement from their rear ports so I'm worried that I'll end up with the same problem.

Maybe the only way to get really coherent sound is to get bookshelves, cross them over before they roll off, and get a big expensive sealed subwoofer? I don't want to spend the money or apartment floor space for such a solution though.

Or is my whole train of thought about this misguided? Thanks again for any advice. :)

DougMac
04-04-2015, 06:21 AM
Welcome to the forum Tom!

I think the problem you are trying to solve is not as much related to port theory as it is to the application of that theory.

Would you clarify information about your soundbar? I see that some soundbars have a "subwoofer" built in and some have an external subwoofer as part of the package. Which do you have?