PDA

View Full Version : DaveF's HTPC - Come Help Dave Get the Most Out of His New Toy!

FirstReflect
09-30-2013, 06:00 AM
Hi, everyone!

As a thank you for Dave's tremendous work on my order of 11 custom speakers, I made him a Windows Media Center movie server with 10 Blu-ray movies that I thought would make good demo material loaded onto it.

I love my own HTPC, but I really only use it as a movie and music playback machine. I'm far from an expert on HTPCs. So I'm hoping some of you knowledgeable folks will be willing to chip in and offer additional advice!

Dave and I have already chatted back and forth a few times about different formats and expanding the capabilities of the HTPC that I made for him. But I can only offer my own opinions, experiences, and limited knowledge.

I made a whole bunch of videos showcasing the hardware, software, and setup that I used. For anyone who is brand new to HTPCs, they might be helpful to you. For folks who know a lot more than me, you can see what I've provided as a starting point for Dave :)

I had intended to put all these videos on YouTube for easy viewing, but a bunch of them got blocked because they show some video from the movies that I loaded onto the HTPC :mad: It really ought to fall under Fair Use as I am narrating over top of the video, and it is for instructional purposes, but YouTube isn't into making that kind of judgement call -- haha.

So, I've uploaded them to some Dropbox folders. I'm not sure how well they will work, or if Dropbox will place a limit on the bandwidth and number of downloads. But you should be able to either view the videos directly, or download the folders as .zip files.

Here are the folder links:

Most Important Vids (16): https://www.dropbox.com/sh/pgfm4l84lr5dw6u/aFtoqwxEcW

Common Glitches (6): https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7g20179oi7wb628/goQfIeUvtF

Backing Up (Ripping) Blu-rays (7): https://www.dropbox.com/sh/k2camvpgb7hqarm/hvdMy2sPGP