PDA

View Full Version : Cabinet Cracking Near Tweeters

sdheda
09-25-2013, 03:21 PM
Has anyone experienced cracks developing in their Sierra cabinets? They seem to be originating from where the screws for the woofers or tweeters go into the cabinet.

I previously had a Sierra-1 that had a crack moving away from one of the tweeter screws. Dave was good enough to replace the cabinet for me. But now I noticed that one of my Sierra Towers also has cracks near the tweeter. I was in the middle of packing them for a move so I forgot to take pictures. They are still packed in their boxes and I don't want to take them out until I contact Ascend about this problem.

I was just curious if I am the only one that has experienced this. I am no wood expert, but I think it may be caused by the bamboo pieces that are glued together splitting apart due to the expansion or movement of the screw or speaker driver. Stupid I know, but this is the second cabinet that this has happened to so I am curious to know why.

BTW, Ascend is a great company, and I still have every intention of upgrading to the RAAL tweeter on my Towers.

davef
09-25-2013, 03:42 PM
Hi Sdheda,

I am sorry to hear this, can you please email us some pictures? This is definitely not an issue with the bamboo but I am wondering if you are in an area with very high humidity or is it excessively dry? Seems very odd for this to happen to two of your cabinets now.

sdheda
09-25-2013, 07:28 PM
I am in sunny SoCal :cool: In fact I picked up the speakers from your warehouse in San Clemente.

Here are some pictures of two cracks. I was mistaken, the cracks are from the midrange woofer.

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-xy_hQzP6P9o/UkOa3Yo-BdI/AAAAAAAACcU/eeVKWQj9_6k/w1223-h917-no/20130925_192231.jpg

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-2LwRxvv-8G8/UkOa5S5MShI/AAAAAAAACck/OB7AENCXhB4/w1223-h917-no/20130925_192136.jpg

RicardoJoa
09-26-2013, 10:27 AM