PDA

View Full Version : Technical question, regarding running Sierra Towers at full range

HEPD85
09-04-2013, 05:18 AM
Hi guys, I'm pretty new to the forums and will be a new owner of a set of Towers as soon as they are in stock again. I'm not new to the hobby per se, I'm no expert either, cut my teeth into audio after my first deployment in the Marines (used a big chunk of my deployment bonus on it :)) been at it ever since, look forward to my stay here.

My question pertains to what actually happens in a given speaker (in this case, the Towers) when they are fed a full signal (20 - 20k). As I understand it, most speakers actually don't reach down to 20 hz, so what happens if someone were to run them full range without the support of a sub for whatever reason, by this I mean would the speakers try to play it anyways at the expense of their own longevity or will the hardware simply ignore signals outside of their own capabilities?

I know some of you will ask for this so here goes: my set up includes an Emotiva UMC-200 as a pre-amp, and Emotiva XPA-3 running the speakers with 200 wpc at 8 ohm, and 300 wpc at 4ohms.

Thanks everyone

curtis
09-04-2013, 12:49 PM
The hardware will try to play everything that is thrown at it.

You would have to be playing at pretty loud levels, or raise the EQ in the lower frequencies (below the speaker's specifications) to worry about abuse.

HEPD85
09-04-2013, 12:57 PM
So if I don't mess with the EQ, I wouldn't have anything to worry about stay within a normal volume (below reference) correct? Are there any serious downsides of driving something like the Sierra Towers full range even for movie/music/gaming purposes?

In addition, will this affect the other frequencies also performed by the hardware?

FirstReflect
09-04-2013, 08:47 PM
Sometimes, I think it's more helpful to look at things in a slightly different way: