PDA

View Full Version : Show me the way...

Long time paradigm
04-03-2012, 11:39 AM
I have been purchasing and enjoying audio equipment for over 10 years. I'm pretty stubborn. I would never consider anything but paradigm. The more research I do, the more I realize that there actually are other speakers out there. So hopefully somebody can help guide me. I have paradigm monitor 9 v6 fronts. CC 290 center and mini monitor rears (all v6). My impressions are that I enjoy the midrange but hate the tweeters more and more every day. I'm considering selling the whole system and going with ascend. I haven't decided on the sub yet. I have found several great companies selling great subs. That's a discussion for another time. So I ask... Is anyone familar with the paradigm monitor line and how does it compare. Sierras are out of my price range so throw that out. Any help would be great. Also considering axiom. all thoughts are welcome! Thanks!

DaveHo
04-03-2012, 01:27 PM
I've never heard that particular Monitor line. However, I had a complete 7 channel Paradigm Studio v2 setup(100s, CC, ADPs, 20's) that I ditched for a 340SE LCR & 170SE side/rear setup if that tells you anything.

-Dave

Long time paradigm
04-04-2012, 09:34 AM
Thanks, that actually helps a lot. The studios are the next line up and much more expensive. I read reviews of ascends sounding bright and your ears have to break in do to the extreme clarity. Any truth to this claim? I know everyone hears things different but I'm trying to get away from "bright" speakers. I want a smooth balanced sound. Am I in the right place?

curtis
04-04-2012, 09:43 AM
Where did you read that Ascends are bright?

Long time paradigm
04-04-2012, 10:32 AM
I read it AV forum. Guy was saying it sounded bright due the the forward sounding midrange and treble vs a more laid back speaker. Bare with me as you can see by name that the only high end speakers I have ever listened to are paradigms. So you're dealing with a newbe here

curtis