PDA

View Full Version : New lossless HK receivers?

Maniac_Matt85
04-10-2008, 12:44 AM
Hey, first time poster here. I have decided that my next speaker purchase will be through Ascend. :)

Now I've been having trouble finding a good receiver to fit my needs though. I am somewhat new to the audio tech world.

I'm aware that Ascends mate well with HK receivers, and I was pleased to see that Ascend offers packaging discounts when you purchase speakers along with a receiver. The only problem is that I really want a receiver that can handle DTS-HD MA and Dolby True HD (HDMI 1.3a).

Will Ascend sell the new HDMI 1.3a HK receivers (AVR 254 and AVR 354) when they are released? And for HK owners, how easy are HKs to get up and running for a newbie like myself?

Thanks!

Matt

Sam1000
04-10-2008, 02:38 PM
Setting up HK is pretty easy(Isn't HDMI great?) . Their On Screen Display is very intuitive for set up.

What will you be using as a source so that HK can decode DTS MA?

Maniac_Matt85
04-10-2008, 05:42 PM
Nothing as of yet. AFAIK there isn't much that can bitstream HD audio, cuz most the players decode the tracks internally and pass them as PCM.

IDK... Since my PS3 decodes TrueHD and will soon decode DTS HD (april 15th Firmware!!!) and my Tosh XA2 decodes TrueHD internally, I'm wondering how necessary it is for me to have a AVR that decodes these formats.

But.... Im concerned that later gens of blu-ray players will do away with internal decoding. That could leave me in the dust if I look to update.

Can anyone recommend a high quality HDMI HK that will accept HD audio as PCM?

Sam1000
04-10-2008, 09:08 PM
Nothing as of yet. AFAIK there isn't much that can bitstream HD audio, cuz most the players decode the tracks internally and pass them as PCM.

IDK... Since my PS3 decodes TrueHD and will soon decode DTS HD (april 15th Firmware!!!) and my Tosh XA2 decodes TrueHD internally, I'm wondering how necessary it is for me to have a AVR that decodes these formats.