PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - Upgrade from 170SE to Sierra

mikeroy4
12-04-2007, 07:26 PM
I am brand new to the Ascend family and recently purchased a pair of 170SE and love them thus far. I have been reading the forums and reviews and very curious about how much better the Sierra 1 speakers sound. I primarily just listen to music and have a 2.1 system with a Onkyo 705 receiver and use a CSW Base Cube 10 Subwoofer. I have read that the subwoofer I have is no good so I am looking to replace that with one of the HSU models. My house is small and I listen to music in two adjoining rooms. The rooms are approximately 14 x 8, and a open entry into a room that is 15 x 15. I have a $1000 budget (to start) and have been debating going with a 4 -170s (two per room) or upgrade now to the Sierra 1 and just keep the 2.1 setup. Any suggestions for someone new to this who likes all types of music and is not concerned about home theatre at this point.

Mike^S
12-04-2007, 08:58 PM
I am brand new to the Ascend family and recently purchased a pair of 170SE and love them thus far. I have been reading the forums and reviews and very curious about how much better the Sierra 1 speakers sound. I primarily just listen to music and have a 2.1 system with a Onkyo 705 receiver and use a CSW Base Cube 10 Subwoofer. I have read that the subwoofer I have is no good so I am looking to replace that with one of the HSU models. My house is small and I listen to music in two adjoining rooms. The rooms are approximately 14 x 8, and a open entry into a room that is 15 x 15. I have a $1000 budget (to start) and have been debating going with a 4 -170s (two per room) or upgrade now to the Sierra 1 and just keep the 2.1 setup. Any suggestions for someone new to this who likes all types of music and is not concerned about home theatre at this point.