PDA

View Full Version : Help! Sierra with a thin sound...

btbluesky
10-16-2007, 11:38 PM
I just received my new natural Sierra 1 today (thanks Dave for the superfast shipping).

And been testing it for 2 hours. I'm a total newbie on high fidelity setup (recent 20 something grad poor college student). I have alot of FLAC and MP3, and the setup I have is a Linux FLAC --> Trends Audio USB UD-10.1 DAC/transport (16/48) --> (24k plate 3.5 minijack to RCA) --> 17 years old Bryston 17 yrs old 2b LP(very good condition) thats 50w @ 8 ohm --> (16 AGW Monster, will switch to 12 AWG Dayton soon) --> Sierra 1

NOW, as a low budget setup, with Sierra being the big boy here, of course there are alot of upgrade before it sounds good, but I figure with this, it should be decent for awhile.

And as I'm testing it, the sound comes out to me abit "thin". There are lots of detail, super nice high, but when there are complex segment, it sounds just...thin. I only use it in low volume in small room, that's why I didn't opt for a higher power amp (plus that was before I decided on Sierra), but comparing to a setup I auditioned (musical fidelity 100w + Dynaudio 52SE), it just sounds way too thin.

I believe it's no fault on Sierra. There are at least 3 things I'm trying to decide to fix this ASAP and I would REALLY APPRECIATE anyone with knowledge to help me out:

1. The Trends Audio, running off USB 5v, using a 16/48 DAC chip, outputting to 3.5 jack is the cause.
2. The Bryston Amp is not powerful enough, even though its said to be very underrated
3. Sierra not burn-in yet?!

Anyone have any idea?

GirgleMirt
10-17-2007, 06:47 AM
I couldn't say about your equipment, but how does your room look? How, where are the Sierras located?

btbluesky
10-17-2007, 10:25 AM