PDA

View Full Version : Worth it to choose Sierras over 340SE for HT?

bmw583
08-18-2007, 09:21 AM
Hey all, I'm a recent graduate from KU with a degree in aerospace engineering. I got some money to spend from my signing bonus and I'm thinking about going with Sierras for LCR and HTM-200 for surrounds. A little about me: I have an HK AVR 225 receiver, Fluance AV-HTB speakers and SVS-PB10 subwoofer and listen to nearly 100% HT (TV & DVDs). I also live in an apartment.

My question: I know that the width and depth of the soundstage in addition to dynamic performance are very important to HT so will I notice large benefits by going with Sierras for LCR than 340SE? I ask this b/c I have looked in the forums and see a lot of discussion about the Sierras in regards to music but very little about HT. It seems people buy them for 2-channel music listening. Even the Audioholics review said nothing about HT performance. Are there any people who have had both Sierras and 340SEs and can compare their performance in HT? Thanks for any help you guys can provide.

theophile
08-18-2007, 12:36 PM
bmw583,

The 340's are 5 db higher in efficiency...a big margin for HT playback of THX reference audio levels! I'm looking at the 340's and 200's for a 5.1 setup with 90-95% HD-DVD movie views in a big romm (5kcf), so believe the 340's will work better for me!

However, with a smaller room than mine and using a beefy amp with plenty of dynamic headroom, you may find the Sierras's playback levels perfectly fine for HT!

Ted

bmw583
08-21-2007, 03:02 AM
are there any sierra owners out there that can comment on the home theater performance? thanks.

harsubs
08-21-2007, 08:44 AM
are there any sierra owners out there that can comment on the home theater performance? thanks.