PDA

View Full Version : Ascends matched with Emotiva?

theophile
08-17-2007, 10:27 AM
Newbie here at Ascend and was inquiring about what I have and what I'm looking at!

Well, after looking at Axioms, AV123, Hsu, Era and Dana for L-C-R and surrounds, I'm strongly leaning toward a complete Ascend setup consisting of the CMT-340-SEM's fronts, CMT-340 SEC center and the HTM 200's for the side surrounds.

My HT room is 4800cf great room (20x22x11), is lively (wooden floors) and filled with decor for entertainment & acoustics (in that order)! I'll be pushing this setup with the Emotiva LMC-1 pre-pro and the LPA-1 amp. I watch\listen to about 90% HD movies and 10% music. I already have an Axiom EP500 sub so I'm well covered there.

I lean toward classical, jazz, R&B and vocals for music but am a little concerned that the Ascends could be too bright in my room with either movies or music? Would their treble balance side more with say, Axioms (forward & bright), or more towards AV123's (laid back & warm)???

Has anyone had a similar setup (speakers-electronics) in a similar room? I'll cross over the mains and center at 60hz. We (SHMBO & I) enjoy our audio levels at reference movie theater amplitutdes and wonder if this speaker setup can play cleanly to 85db av. w\100+db on peaks and stay smooth, unstrained and extended without compression?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Ted

Gov
08-18-2007, 07:26 AM
I have the same speaker set up with the LPA-1. It is a great combination, you will be very happy!

audibleconnoisseur
08-21-2007, 06:04 AM