PDA

View Full Version : LR Surround speakers, angle it?

bmwguy
02-20-2007, 12:26 PM
Newbie here in fact first post..

Having just purchased the 3 340SE in front and 2 170s in the LR surround about 1 month ago and just got done setting it up in the basement, sounds fantastic BTW, I have a question in regards to the angle of LR surround speakers.

I have the 170s mounted on the Omni 2.0 but due to the weight of the 170s, Its kinda angled, so that the tweeter is directed down and toward the listen ears. When I listen to music, it's kind of direct and I believe I am hearing a lot more of the 170 than I really should.

So the questions is whether I should angle the entire speaker so that the tweeter is aiming toward the ears, OR should the tweeters be directed and face the other surround speaker and let the sound bounce above the listening level?

My setup is Denon receiver 2807, 340SE in front, 170s in surround, HSU VTF 2 MK III.

Tia,

cyberbri
02-20-2007, 02:55 PM
I have my surround speakers like yours, on the side walls behind the couch, angled down and at the listening position. I just have them calibrated 2dB below the level of the main speakers.

drewface
02-20-2007, 05:44 PM
i was just reading about this last night after following some links in another thread:
http://www.zinszer.com/ht-speakers002.htm
http://www.nsmaudio.com/brochures/htsetup2.html

from what i read, surround speakers do their job better if they are NOT angled towards the listening postion, because this creates too much awareness of their postion, as you said. by angling them somewhere else, the sound is dispersed more into the room. the first link there is a good, short read on the subject.

BGHD
02-20-2007, 07:33 PM
So the questions is whether I should angle the entire speaker so that the tweeter is aiming toward the ears, OR should the tweeters be directed and face the other surround speaker and let the sound bounce above the listening level?