PDA

View Full Version : Advice on a budget!

jargon
03-02-2006, 05:07 AM
Hi, i'm a newbie here as you'll probably notice.
I've done a _lot_ of research as to which speakers i'm going to pour my money into. To some, $US500-1000 might not be alot to spend on speakers, but to me, $US300 is a fairly substantial investment.
Having said that, if any of the reviews i've read are anything to go by, i'd be pretty happy about handing over the cash.
Basically i've narrowed it down to either the Ascend CBM-170 or Axiom M3ti.
Having read audioreview aswell as soundstage/goodsound/audioholics reviews i'm pretty sure i've done all I can bar actually auditioning them, which just isn't viable seeing as i'm in New Zealand. Cross referencing both this board and axiom's is as expected: The members of this are in favour of the ascend, and the members of the axiom board are in favour of... *gasp*, the axioms.
What i'd really like to know is: What sort of SPL's can I expect from the CBM-170 without distortion or other nasty anomalies...and if anyone has experience with the M3tis, input would be much appreciated also.
I don't listen to jazz or classical music, it's prodominantly rock, albeit many sub-genres of rock.
2 weeks ago I had my heart set on the M3tis as they appeared to outclass the Paradigm atom/titans, PSB alphas and though probably not in the same class, polk RT38i....

Give me some direction! :)

Mag_Neato
03-02-2006, 06:12 AM
I've never heard the M3Ti, but I have heard the M60's. I own classic 170's. Other than the bass I did not feel that my 170's lacked anything compared to them. I have chased my kids from the room playing the 170's at higher than normal SPL's, crossed over to a sub at 80hz! The SE versions are supposed to have even lower distortion and could play even louder if that is what you want. I have plenty of volume for music and movies in my 13'x 18'x 8' room hooked up to a Outlaw 1050 putting out 6 channels @ 65watts each.