PDA

View Full Version : Bi-wiring -- I don't get it.

lmm
05-23-2005, 02:25 PM
Now, I'm not an expert, but I just don't get the principle.

I have a single speaker output on the amp, and two speaker inputs on the speaker.

I can connect two pairs of wires, bridging the two at the amp, and connecting them individually to the speaker input. Or, I could bridge the two pairs of wires any place along the length, and it would give the same result, until I finally reach the speakers themselves.

So isn't "biwiring" pretty much the same as running double-size cables from amp to speakers?

This is different from bi-amping, since with that, there's a crossover at signal level where different frequencies run at different amps.

Right?
:confused:

Lee Bailey
05-23-2005, 03:00 PM
I believe you have it correct. Hooking up via Bi-Wire would not look any different electrically to the amp. Where as Bi-Amping would.

Lou-the-dog
05-23-2005, 07:34 PM
I'm pretty sure biwiring is implemented to prevent the slow moving "woofer" electrons from being trampled be the very fast moving "tweeter" electrons. If the fast moving "tweeter" electrons trample too many slow moving "woofer" electrons then the bass and mids will sound thin. Biwiring provides two different paths to eliminate this "trampling" phenomenon. I've never been able to figure out how each type of electron knows exactly which wire to go down tho. :D Then again, I might not know what I'm talking about. :D

Randy

MikeQ
05-25-2005, 05:33 PM
I'm pretty sure biwiring is implemented to prevent the slow moving "woofer" electrons from being trampled be the very fast moving "tweeter" electrons

Maybe it was implemented to sell more wire!?

DavidD
05-25-2005, 09:49 PM
Another view of biwiring:

Biwiring (http://www.vandersteen.com/pages/Answr7.htm)

Lee Bailey
05-26-2005, 06:45 AM