Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New amp choice for my Sierra 2ex

Default New amp choice for my Sierra 2ex

Hello,

So my Nikko Stereo amp died yesterday 😑. New amp time. I'm looking at either the Schiit Vidor or a Parasound A24+

Anyone have opinion or experience with either? I'm just wondering if twice the cost if the Vidor for the A23+ would be worth it. 🤔

Thanks!

Default Re: New amp choice for my Sierra 2ex

I have a Vidar running my pair of Lunas in a near-field set-up. I am extremely happy with the combination. Clean, natural sounding, well balanced, and effortless. As always, YMMV. I have no experience with Parasound.

Thanks! That's reassuring. I never really drive my speakers hard. I sit approx 8 feet back.

I WAS also considering the NAD 268 but that is D class and I think that might not be a good match for the ribbon tweeter.

Quote Originally Posted by rifmon View Post
    Hello,

So my Nikko Stereo amp died yesterday . New amp time. I'm looking at either the Schiit Vidor or a Parasound A24+

Anyone have opinion or experience with either? I'm just wondering if twice the cost if the Vidor for the A23+ would be worth it. 樂

Thanks!
    I have no personal experience with either, but I have a friend that owns a Parasound pre/amp. He's an Ascend owner and on this forum.

When his Parasound pre/amp needed repair for a second time (OK, that doesn't sound good), they replaced his pre/amp with the newer model at no charge...now that sounds like great customer service.
    -curtis

Well, thanks for that too! I always approach patronage towards customer service, at least as equal to, product quality.

A little background; last year I upgraded to a totally professionally recapped, restored Nikko Alpha II and a Beta 20. The performance was great until late last year, I noticed the right speaker was delayed upon start-up. It persevered and gradually occurred more frequently.

In February i called the shop, sent it back (from PA to TX! )