Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Surrounds, which speaker?

Default Surrounds, which speaker?

I haven't been on the forums in a while but I now have a new project. I have been enjoying my Sierra towers for a few years now but recently moved and now enjoy them less. The living room in my new house has terrible acoustics. This led to the decision to make half the basement into a dedicated H/T listening room. I have just started tear out so I can build from scratch.
    Im looking at all available offerings from Ascend for surrounds.
    I currently have my crossover to my sub at 60hz. I will probably switch to 80hz once I have dual Rythmiks in place. Im wondering, which speaker will have the smoothest transition to Rythmik L or F 12s.
    Currently, I see no reason the HTM 200 SE wont fit the bill nicely.
    I was also wondering if there would be a possibility of trading a very lightly used Sierra center for a single Sierra RAAL tower in satin espresso. Id sure like to have 3 towers as my LCR.

Default Re: Surrounds, which speaker?

I think the HTM200SE's will work well as surrounds. I was using a pair at one point but replaced them with my S2's when upgrading to the Towers. The 200's are now in the office :-)

Not sure about trade-ins. Maybe check usaudiomart or audigon for someone selling a pair of towers at a discount.

racrawford,
    Usaudio does have a pair of towers listed but they are the Nrt not the ribbons.

This would do away with surrounds but since you’ve been enjoying stereo with your Sierra Towers, or rather that you’re wanting the return of enjoy ability how about an external DAC instead? The sound quality is noticeably improved with one, I gave up surrounds when I discovered The Emotiva DC-1, an external DAC (no longer available, but $500 when it was). PS Audio has The Stellar GainCell DAC, $1699. I’m planning on getting one.
    Last edited by choirbass; 02-26-2021 at 03:16 AM.

choirbass