Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sierra-2EX, which line of B & W does it compare to?

Default Sierra-2EX, which line of B & W does it compare to?

Hi, I am a new guy into the world of hi fi, and I want to know a few things.

I know that B & W have their own house sound, and their sound profile is not neutral. But, they are one of the most famous name in the audio world, and my current front setup is a pair of Kef Q150 + a htm6 center that I picked up for half the price in best buy. I do think they sound great, but obviously it's because I am new to the game and haven't heard better, except anywhere I go, there are always a few people mentioning a little company called Ascend....So that's why I am here.

The reason why I want to compare to B & W is because I want to have a long term goal of saving for really good speakers. For you guys, and the owner Dave (?) here, if you had to make the comparison, which line of the B & W does the Sierra-2EX compare to? Is it good enough to go toe to toe with the 805 D2, which is supposed to be the queen of bookshelf speakers?

If so, then the Sierra-2EX is crazy in value then. I also live in SoCal and I am very interested in coming to the Ascend office to hear it personally. But problem is, as a new guy in the hi-fi game, I don't know what is good and how good without something to compare to. The best B & W speaker I heard are the 700 series towers in best buy, so I will most likely use that as a reference point.

Exclamation Re: Sierra-2EX, which line of B & W does it compare to?

Quote Originally Posted by hellolin View Post
    For you guys, and the owner Dave (?) here, if you had to make the comparison, which line of the B & W does the Sierra-2EX compare to? Is it good enough to go toe to toe with the 805 D2, which is supposed to be the queen of bookshelf speakers?
    HL,

"Hello" and Welcome to the Ascend Acoustic Forum!