Thread: Buying my first Subwoofer

Question Buying my first Subwoofer

I currently have two Sierra-1s and one Sierra-1 center, I've been using them for 10 years now, they are wonderful!

Upgrading from a Denon AVR-S540BT (70W/channel) to a used Pioneer ELITE SC-27 (140W/channel) this weekend. I've never owned a subwoofer before, looking at my price range it is either: L12, LV12F, or LVX12

My living room is wide open with many doorways and hallways. I'm leaning towards the L12 just so I don't have to worry about vents, but would the extra power of the LVX12 be worth it for my setup?

I'm thinking because of the added power of the new receiver the L12 should be plenty for me. Thoughts?

e: also being a audio novice, I noticed the Pioneer just has one RCA output for the subwoofer, is that all it takes to connect to a L12?
    Last edited by fozzythebear; 08-06-2020 at 11:30 AM.

Default Re: Buying my first Subwoofer

How big is your room (including if open to other areas)?
    Depending on this, you may want to save up for a sub with bigger driver (or add a second Lxx down the road) or go for the most you can afford now with highest output (the LVX12).

What's your worry about vents (I think you mean ports)?

Yes, RCA out from the AVR to RCA in on the sub - 1 cable only. You can use either LFE IN or LINE IN. I use LFE IN, fwiw.

Room is 15' x 20' Many opening to other rooms.
    QGM74he.png
    Picture is not to scale :-D

I was thinking since my setup sounds good now, adding a sub would make it even better.

Oops, I meant ports, I thought you needed to keep ports a certain distance from walls?

Is that roughly 20' x 20'? That's not small, plus open to other areas. I don't think I'd want less than a good pair of 12" ported subs (even 15", budget permitting). Even if it means getting one now and the 2nd one later.