Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: High strand speaker cable

Default High strand speaker cable

A lot of people, and even some speaker cable companies, recommend high strand speaker cable. The idea being that high strand cable has more surface area than low strand or solid core and that this reduces resistance.

From what I gather, they are referring to "skin effect" which causes signals to travel near the surface of the wire. Therefore, more surface area = better signal. There's a couple articles, however, that say that this really only has significance at very high frequencies such as 100khz and above. And that from 20hz to 20khz skin effect doesn't really matter.

Any thoughts? Would love to hear from any enginerds out there. Maybe Dave, if you aren't too busy?

Default Re: High strand speaker cable

i am not an engineer degree on paper but electronic Technical service (associates degree) for a long time and there is merit to the high stranded concept vs solid with high grade copper, as to it making a noticeable difference debate,? that will still go on.
    As a youngster ,Mom was missing lamp cords and extension cords from the box marked "Christmas" that got repurposed for that same reason(speaker wire). they were the cheapest method of getting high stranded copper wire at the time, sorry mom! LOL (I knew that and used it then)
    Personally, one Christmas my wife and i upgraded all our signal and speaker wire to Monster brand for about $500.00 ish plus. Did we actually hear a difference, YES we both did immediately YMMV?
    Recently we bought a new 4k UHD tv and installed a line conditioner, plugged the equipment into their proper spots for proper grounding and YES it too made a visual difference , so i can assume an audio also.
    Some may say i am full of it but c'est la vie aka...that's life..

I heard both sides and i vote yes
    Last edited by audiohead; 06-11-2020 at 03:41 AM. Reason: spelling