Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi from Seattle - Ascend Sierra Tower NRT & Sierra 2-EX RAAL currently in audition

Lightbulb Hi from Seattle - Ascend Sierra Tower NRT & Sierra 2-EX RAAL currently in audition

Hi everyone,

Thanks to all of you who have posted with your experience about audio. I'm relatively new to speaker shopping, and your input has been invaluable.

The facts:

Sound is a nearly universal human experience. I love music, both studio, live recording, and movies. I have heard the term 'audiophile' throughout my life, and never felt it applied to me, and would typically feel out of place posting to forums with opinions about audio equipment. This community appears to be a welcoming bunch, so here I am...

Having a budget to commit to audio equipment has been a limitation for most of my life. I have recently decided to explore upgrading some speakers of mine from the year 2000. (I don’t buy things frequently). I love my current speakers, however spare parts are impossible to find. Plus, times change.

The budget: ~$2k max per set (x3, for 3 listening areas) (for me, this has meant a stripped down expense list)

The system: 2.0 audio system (90% music / 10% home theater). No sub at this time.

The speakers (choose 1):

• Sierra Tower NRT
    • Sierra 1 NRT
    • Sierra 2-EX RAAL

The spaces:

• Living area 14’ x 18’
      - Long wall (chair) – TV - speakers 7' apart
      - Short wall (couch) – open to long room - speakers 12' apart

• Bedroom 11’ x 16' - speakers centered 7' apart across from bed on long wall
      - laying down
      - sitting up

The listening environment:

In my recent research about speakers, I have discovered all sorts of specifications and terminology that can be quite overwhelming for a novice (like me).