Thread: Sierra 2 vs Sierra 2 EX

Default Sierra 2 vs Sierra 2 EX

Hi all,

Newbie here. I am going to buy marantz 7013 and wanted to buy speakers for that. I listen to music and watch movies. right now I have nothing but just tv speakers (tv is old too)

I was recommeded these speakers but I am not sure what the difference is and if its worth upgrade to 2EX instead of buying 2.I plan to set it up as 2.0 setup (can't afford to spend anymore after a receiver and speakers)

I was thinking of buying 2 EX but I would have to pay for shipping it back if i dont like them. Any place I listen to them before I buy them

Default Re: Sierra 2 vs Sierra 2 EX

I owned S2's since they came out (upgraded from the NrT's) and they are amazing speakers.
    I did the EX upgrade to them at Christmas time. Very much worth it in my opinion. If you consider that buying new EX's are only $200 more than the standard S2's vs $736/pair to upgrade from existing S2's to S2-EX's it's a no-brainer.

The fact that you will not be using a sub reinforces that choice as the EX's have tower-like bass.
    Ed

* Sierra-2EX's W/V2 crossover upgrade
    * (2) Rythmik F12's
    * Parasound Halo P6
    * Audio by Van Alstine DVA-M225 Monoblock Amps
    * MiniDSP 2x4HD For Sub calibration
    *World's Best Cables Canare 4S11 speaker cables

Without a doubt, get the EX. Depending on where you are located, there may be a forum member nearby who would be willing to let you audition before you purchase. I think you will find that Ascend has very, very few customers who have ever returned a speaker because they didn't like them.

Quote Originally Posted by white_darren View Post
    Without a doubt, get the EX. Depending on where you are located, there may be a forum member nearby who would be willing to let you audition before you purchase. I think you will find that Ascend has very, very few customers who have ever returned a speaker because they didn't like them.