Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Finally! Thoughts on new towers

Default Finally! Thoughts on new towers

I am not an audio expert and will not try to write this review as tho I am. I will give my honest opinion, and material used, so there is a reference point of some sort.
    I received my Sierra RAAL towers, these are my first impressions. They arrived UPS yesterday in great condition. When I broke the seal and opened the box, I found everything in order. The gloves, frequency response printouts, a swath of baby bottom soft cloth, and a short thank you from Dave and crew. I unboxed these by myself, yes it would have been easier with a helping hand, but this was my moment and I didn't want to share it. I found the easiest method was to put the box on it's side and gently slide the contents out onto the carpet. The towers were wrapped in the same baby soft cloth. Getting through the tape on each end was, what I can only imagine as being, akin to breaking into fort knox. This was not a bad thing. It was like opening a christmas present and the joy lasted a bit longer, since the wrapping didn't just rip away to reveal its hidden treasure. Once I got the base and carpet spikes attached, I tipped the tower to its upright position. At this moment, I called my girlfriend in for the unveiling.
    At this point I should add, when I originally ordered my towers, I ordered satin black. A couple days after my order was placed, Dina called to tell me they were out of that color. This was not Ascends fault, I ordered at the end of the production run and there simply weren't enough of the black cabinets. I ended up going with the satin espresso as I didn't want to wait another 2-3 mo. for the next run of tower cabinets.