Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Speaker cable quality

Default Speaker cable quality

I know this might be a mood point. But my center channel sounded a little more open fuller when i used a better speaker cable. Anybody else experiment with better cable on the center channel. How important is this? Yes im new to AV. Always been a 2 channel guy.

Thanks for you thoughts.

Default Re: Speaker cable quality

Were the gauges different? From everything I've read, once you reach a certain level of quality (which isn't too hard to attain), more expensive cables will not provide an improvement. Maybe the original wire was defective or corroded?

http://www.roger-russell.com/wire/wire.htm

The two popular brands on the net are monoprice and blue jean cables. Both are inexpensive, and meet all realistic needs. Don't buy into the nonsense that a 500 dollar speaker wire will make any difference.
    Last edited by Stump909; 02-22-2013 at 11:57 AM.

Ascend sells some good quality wire (on the Accessories page):

http://www.ascendacoustics.com/pages...ccssintro.html

Quote Originally Posted by musicguy View Post
    I know this might be a mood point. But my center channel sounded a little more open fuller when i used a better speaker cable. Anybody else experiment with better cable on the center channel. How important is this? Yes im new to AV. Always been a 2 channel guy.
    As long as the resistance of the cable is kept reasonably low, personally I've never been able to perceive any differences. It wouldn't hurt to use a thicker cable (thicker copper conductor, that is) than necessary, and the same goes for cables of higher build quality, but if you do so it would be for peace of mind rather than a perceivable improvement in sound quality, in my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Stump909 View Post