Thread: Newbie Sierra-1 Review

Default Newbie Sierra-1 Review

I'm not an expert, don't have golden ears, lack technical vocabulary and English is not my first language . Anyway, I will try to make this review as useful as I can. At least for newbies like myself.

Reason to Upgrade: My Onkyo setup was ok for HT, but Music was almost unlistenable most of the time. Made me stop buying and listening to CDs. Listening habits: 70% music, 30% HT.
    Previous Experiences with Speakers: Not many. I own an Onkyo 5.1 HTIB model 904. I have heard a pair of B&W mid-nineties 6 series towers extensively at my parents house (like them very much, by the way). I have also auditioned (for very brief periods of time and in very poor listening conditions) PSB T45, T55 and T65, Monitor Audio RS6, RS8 and GS10, B&W 704 and 805, Energy RC60, KEF iQ5, iQ7 and iQ9. For one reason or another, none of them was exactly what I needed. Too expensive, too big, too ugly, too warm, too bright, etc.
    Purchasing Experience: Superb. Mail support during the whole process, even from David Fabrikant himself. All questions answered promptly, all concerns taken care of.
    Packaging: Double boxed, strong and thick styrofoam protection, thin cloth covering the speakers. You would have to hit the box with an axe to damage the speakers during shipping.
    Physical Appearance: Beautiful piano black finish. Looks very durable and is almost mirrorlike. Heavy, very solid feel when handling them. They look and feel like premium speakers.
    Current Setup: 4.1 living room setup, Sierra-1 RL, no center, Onkyo HTIB rear speakers, Onkyo TX-SR505 receiver, PS3. Room is roughly 25x12x8 feet with a 12x12x8 listenig area. No room treatments, no bass management. Front speakers are positioned on entertainment center (I'll post a pic later) and rears are on-wall.
    Listening Impressions: