Thread: Need help to finalize Ascend set up

Default Need help to finalize Ascend set up

Hello All,
    I’m a new member and in the process of making a final list of audio and video equipment for my finished basement. I’m not an expert in the field but do appreciate quality sound. The use will be 80% TV and 20% music.

So far here’s my list for a budget of about $4,700. I’d like to stay under $5K bust still get quality components us much as possible.

Speakers:
    ascendacoustics.com
    CMT-340SE - fronts
    CMT-340SEC - center
    CBM-170 – surrounds

Subwoofer: HSU- VTF-2 MK 3
    hsuresearch.com/products/vtf-2-mk3.html

Receiver:
    Onkyo TX-SR705

TV
    Panasonic TH-50PZ77U 50" Plasma HDTV (1080p)

The immediate TV room is 13’ X 20’ X 7.5’. The TV will be placed by the 13’ wall. The back of the room is opened to the rest of the basement which is another 15’ X 30’.

I current get Verizon HD TV, the box has HDMI output. I’m hoping to connect everything using HDMI cables for the best signal quality.

I wanted to get some opinions on my set up before I pull the trigger. I’m looking for any red flags as far as any possible compatibility issue that may effect the quality of the audio/video. Also suggestions are welcome to consider different components, brands.

Thank you,

Alan

The Onkyo 805 is on sale at Circuit City right now for $699.

A VTF-2 Mk3 is $550 shipped

That Ascend set is ~$1200 shipped

That plasma is $2200 - OneCall has a $75 off coupon, but I don't know what shipping would be.

That would give you everything for under your target cost, plus you're upgraded to the Onkyo 805.

It should be an awesome setup.

BTW: I just saw that you can get a 10% off coupon for CircuitCity on ebay for ~$1.50 and they are supposed to work on the 805. That knocks another $70 off your costs and makes that 805 a steal. Heck, I don't need one and I want to get one.