Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Anyone do a comparison of the XR-57 with analog receiver?

Default Anyone do a comparison of the XR-57 with an analog receiver?

I just hooked the XR-57 up to my 340SE's and was curious if anyone else had experience comparing the Panasonic to a mid priced Yamaha/Denon/HK.

Thanks.
    Last edited by badassfajita; 08-09-2006 at 08:47 AM.

Eddie here in Houston got rid of his Marantz 5400(?) for a Panny XR55.

Have you tried the search function and XR55/57? THere are a few threads on this forum about the Panny digitals.

I compared the HK 435 vs the Panny xr55 for about a week in my apartment. The rest of my set-up consists of a 340 classic center, 340SE fronts, 170SE rears and an Hsu VTF3 MK2 sub. Sources compared were the HD DirecTV tivo (the old one) and a Denon DVD player, both connected via optical cables to the receiver.

I'm still relatively new to the whole audiophile scene, so excuse my lack of terminology. Basically, the Panny made the music(SACD and red-books)/movie/TV show sound more life-like than the HK. This was true for both voices and instruments, especially ones with higher pitches (strings, piano, cymbols). The HK was good, and definitely nicer than my 10 year old Yamaha receiver. Also, it has a lot more features, including the room equalization function. But, I thought the sound was truer with the Panny, so I saved my self the $400 and kept the Panny. Hope this helps.

Quote Originally Posted by Quinn
    Eddie here in Houston got rid of his Marantz 5400(?) for a Panny XR55.
    yeah, the OP has actually heard my xr55 at my house on my 340 classics.

I had already gotten rid of the Marantz by that time though, so he had nothing to AB against.

Default Haha I'm going to answer my own question...

Well I've got the 340SE's, Axiom M22's, a Panasonic SA-XR57, an older Onkyo TX-SR503 (from upstairs system) and I got ahold of a Yamaha RX-2500.