Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: With a sub, 340's over the 170's for music?

Default With a sub, 340's over the 170's for music?

I'm currious if the 340's are that much better than the 170's for music when used with a sub? Do they image better and have a better sound stage?

I'm planning on either getting 170's for mains and a 340 center or getting 340 mains for now. I'll upgrade the rest of the system later when I can afford it. Either way, I think I'll end up with a 340 setup across the front and 170's in back.

Back to the original question, for music are the 340's that much better for stereo music than the 170's when both will have a sub? This will be for a dedicated HT eventually, but I don't have a room for that yet. I'm in law school and I find myself listening to music a lot while studying so I'm thinking the 340's over the 170/340/170 combo might be better for now...

Thanks for your thoughts.

i just had to reply because i'm a law school student too.

as far as your question, I can't answer because I went with the 170s as mains--cost reasons mostly. I think they are great, but am curious to see whether people think the 340s are better imagers, or if they will just fill a room better and with lower distortion. I'm thinking about adding a 340c soon, and possibly 200s for surrounds although my room isn't set up well to handle them.

I think it really depends on the space you are going to be using them in.
    -curtis

Quote Originally Posted by curtis
    I think it really depends on the space you are going to be using them in.
    ... and the amount of power you're driving them with. If it's no more than 75-100W or so, and you're using a sub, I suspect the gains by moving up to 340s will be quite small.

What about the difference between spectral decays?

My current room is kind of weird, it opens op to the kitchen in one corner, has a hallway into it, an an open area leading to doors, oh and it also has a vaulted ceiling...