Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Really need some help here

Default Really need some help here

First off let it be known that i am a newb to this HT stuff and i just currently bought my first setup (SvS 7.2xpb10's). I love it but im wondering if there is better for around the same price. They said i could return just the 5.0 setup for a $599 refund which i would use for 340's for mains and centers and was thinking of keeping the svs's for surrounds. Are the ascends really that much better? I know you guys obviously are ascend fans but has anyone heard both of them? I have heard these are in no means any comparision but im wondering how. As in loudness, clarity, and overall sound? Thanks for any help guys

Quote Originally Posted by turboedsupe
    First off let it be known that i am a newb to this HT stuff and i just currently bought my first setup (SvS 7.2xpb10's). I love it but im wondering if there is better for around the same price. They said i could return just the 5.0 setup for a $599 refund which i would use for 340's for mains and centers and was thinking of keeping the svs's for surrounds. Are the ascends really that much better? I know you guys obviously are ascend fans but has anyone heard both of them? I have heard these are in no means any comparision but im wondering how. As in loudness, clarity, and overall sound? Thanks for any help guys
    Check back in a couple days. I own a pair of the SBS-01s (really like them) and just opened my 170 SEs (woohooooo!) but can't listen til tomorrow. I should have a couple hours tomorrow to check the 170s out then next chance I get I'll post some initial comparisons and thoughts.

There will be a dramatic difference between the 340's and the SVS speakers. Just the efficiency difference is huge.