Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone w/ Axiom M22 experience here?

Default Anyone w/ Axiom M22 experience here?

I am not into brand bashing and as a newb, I don't want to give that impression . . .

Anyway, I really like the way my Axiom M22Ti's sound but after an hour of moderate music listening (HK AVR240 at -15 to -20db), my right ear is often sore. I know music can't cause an ear infection, and true enough I have been fighting an on and off infection since November when my M22's showed up, but something is amiss I am sure. Tuesday and Wednesday night I switched out my M22's in favor of my old Atlantic Technology system 250.1 front speakers, .75" tweeters and two 4" woofers. They are made from poly-whatever-its-called. I listened to the same CD's at the same levels and though I had a slight ringing (like I got in 1992 at the Motley Crue Dr. Feelgood tour), there was no pain so to speak.

So I am wondering if that ear, which has given me trouble my whole life, is extra sensitive and for whatever reason, a metal tweeter may be too bright/harsh/accurate for me to take. So to make a long story longer, I have heard good things about Ascend speakers and I can see they too have poly-whatever tweeters. I am real tempted to order their $500 or so front speakers and give them the once over. If I don't suffer the same discomfort, I'll sell the Axioms. If so, I'll return the Ascends, sell the Axioms and go back to my AT's.

If anyone here has ever heard M22's and/or moved to or from Ascends, I would appreciate your input.

Thanks.

Greg

Yes..I have compared the M22 to the CBM-170.

Without getting into characteristics which may be taken in negative context.....I highly suggest you listen the CBM-170SE.
    -curtis

I can afford the CMT-340's and would prefer to go that route. There is a pretty big price difference but if the 170's would work, then I can't see wasting money.

Greg

How big is your room?

The 340's can be compared to the M60's IMO.
    -curtis