PDA

View Full Version : Amplifier shopping...decisions decisions

PersonalTriumph
10-30-2021, 10:40 AM
Greetings all,

Ascend newbie here and proud owner of a fabulous pair of Sierra 2EX's in gorgeous espresso finish.

I've decided the Ascends need an upgrade in the power department, so as the subject says I'm amplifier shopping. The source will be an NAD C658 streamer / preamp as well as a Tascam CD-200BT CD player. The Ascends are complemented by an SVS SB-2000 subwoofer.

Here are the amp contenders:

PS Audio Stellar S300
Nord One SE NC500 DM MKII
Class D Audio GaN FET monoblocks
Orchard Audio Starkrimson monoblocks
Nord Four SE (either monoblocks or stereo version)

Any strong feelings about the above list? My budget is $2000 or thereabouts. I'm reading really good things about the GaN FET amps, which is why the last three are on the list. Thanks!

racrawford65
10-30-2021, 11:47 AM
D-Sonic is another option for Class D, as is VTV amplifier. I've heard the D-Sonic at Dennis' showroom - really nice. I use a VTV 4-ch Pascal for my ATMOS speakers and is nice for the price/application.

That said, Dave has generally recommended Class AB amps for RAAL tweeters on this forum. Many options here - Monoprice Monolith, ATI, Outlaw, Rogue (if you are into tubes, although they also have some hybrids), etc.

PersonalTriumph
10-30-2021, 12:19 PM
Why A/B in particular? Just curious.

Pogre
10-30-2021, 12:36 PM
What are you using right now? More power never hurts, but keep in mind that even doubling your power will net you only 3 dB gain in volume, and depending on what you have now I wouldn't necessarily expect any improvements or differences outside of that. If you're reaching the volumes you like now without distortion any additional power just sits on reserve unused.