PDA

View Full Version : Hi, from Ohio, land of the moderately content cow.

tbp71
01-20-2017, 05:16 AM
Hi all. I registered a few days ago and have read through quite a bit as Ascend's speakers have been of interest. I did get a chance to listen to a pair of Sierra-1s with the NRT tweeter recently. While I was generally impressed I thought the upper mids were a bit too forward for my liking, at least in that particular room with those components. In about everything else--especially depth, detail and soundstaging--I was quite impressed, but that liveliness gave the music I prefer a bit of a hard edge.

Anyway, as for my background, I'm a lifelong musician and once even majored in music before deciding to get slightly more practical degrees. I also partly put myself through school as an audio engineer, mostly in a mastering studio. I mainly play and listen to jazz, but have an interest in many genres, especially classical, blues and harder rock. So I generally look for components and speakers that are detailed, engaging and fairly neutral.

I may see if I can find Sierra-2s or Sierra 1s with the standard tweeter to audition. In any case, there's a lot of great information here, so I thought I'd say hi.

Mag_Neato
01-20-2017, 07:31 AM
Welcome to nuthouse!!

What part of Ohio are you located?

tbp71
01-20-2017, 08:51 AM
Thanks! I'm in the northeast corner, about the center of the snowbelt.

Mag_Neato
01-20-2017, 09:45 AM
Ah, one of those guys who drives around with 15" of snow on the roof of their car as badge of courage!

I'm in the bottom SW corner of Cuyahoga if you ever want to audition the Sierra-2's.

tbp71
01-20-2017, 10:28 AM
Ha. That's one of my pet peeves. Nothing like having to dodge a 60MPH three foot block of snow to make sure you're awake. So I take some time to clear it off.

Thanks. I might take you up on that offer.

davidwb
01-20-2017, 06:12 PM
Down here in Columbus we don't get too much of the snow...just the clouds.