PDA

View Full Version : CBM-170 SE initial impressions

surroundnewbie
12-27-2015, 05:14 PM
Santa brought me a pair of 170s for Christmas (okay, it was my wife--don't know how you can verify it but let me know). I'm a former audio engineer and have worked with lots of great gear including plenty of monitors--from the classic NS-10M to giant Westlakes and lots in between. But over the years I moved around a lot, started a family, etc., and my music became more portable, digital, and poor quality. That changed just over a year ago, when I got Steven Wilson's blu-ray 5.1 remix of Yes' Close to the Edge--I've been a man obsessed ever since.

I now have about 50 surround sound audio discs in various formats--I was playing them all through a Vizio HTiB I got to see if I liked the format--and now I'm beginning the upgrade path to a "real" system. Here's my current gear:

AVR: Yamaha HTR-3066
Fronts: Ascend Acoustics CBM 170 SE
Center: N/A (I'm saving up for a 200)
Surrounds: 10-yr old **** Acoustimass 3
Sub: Dayton 10"

Impressions: Not knowing what to expect, I thought the 170s might sound like a blend between the old NS-10Ms and maybe my friend's nice Audioengines that he was playing some Devandra Banhart on for me recently--I expected them to be a bit clinical and neutral, but maybe with a little of that Audioengine warmth on the low end (I don't know why, I was totally just making it up in my mind).

What I've found so far is that the 170s have far more depth, a bigger and more exciting soundstage, and yet can still disappear better than just about any other speaker I've personally experienced. Although I'm not a ****-basher, the difference between the 170s and **** is striking--there's just no comparison (and the **** cost more, even back in 2005). But they work pretty nicely together, and until I can save up for a pair of 200s (or the sierra sats?!) I'm fine with them where they are.