PDA

View Full Version : New CMT-340 SE Owner

stevecake
03-15-2010, 07:20 PM
Hello all,

After stalking these forums for months, I had myself convinced I wanted (needed?) a pair of CMT-340's. I finally pounced on a used pair I found on Audiogon ($400, shipped!), and bought a shiny new HK 3490 receiver. They're in a small apartment, they serve as music, HT, and gaming speakers, and they're being run full range. Now, this is my first high fidelity music system, but I'm a very anal, detail-oriented person, ESPECIALLY when it comes to my things. And I *love* my Ascends. They fill the room with beautiful, beautiful sound. I'm a poor graduate student, so I have to stretch every dollar I spend, and I can't imagine any investment of $800 yielding more enjoyment. They've basically been running since they arrived, and as I tweak my settings they just get better and better!

The only problem is that I've got that upgrade bug I've read so much about... My sources are my PS3, my computer's digital out, and the radio. Make no mistake, they all sound FANTASTIC, but I've been eying that Music Streamer DAC. Oh, and a sub. The 340's showed me I've been missing a couple octaves... I wonder what else is down there? I'll be open to any other cost-effective upgrades I can find out about... once my credit card stops smoking, that is.

In any event, I'm really excited to finally be a bona-fide member of the Ascend owners' community. I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

--Stephen

jerryj
03-28-2010, 07:11 AM
Hi Steve,