PDA

View Full Version : CBM-170SE Stereo Review

®Magic
02-04-2008, 01:34 PM
Ascend Acoustics CBM-170SE Review

Hello. My name is Chris, and after the holidays I decided to put together a stereo system at or under a $500 budget. Following is a somewhat lengthy story on the entire transaction. I fully admit to not being a cultured audiophile at this point, but hopefully it will be informative regardless of that. Here goes…

Background

Currently I’m an MBA student, and after years of putting money towards stuff like a HDTV (albeit small @ 26”), PC’s, laptops, etc…I figured it was high time I actually purchase a reasonable sound system to go along with everything else. Over the college years I’ve been fairly space constrained, so up until now I’ve been “ok” with a small 2 speaker aiwa deal. I also spent some time a few years back messing with some pro audio equipment (protools, ev, Mackie, various studio monitors, etc.), so while I don’t profess to be an expert by any measure, I feel comfortable saying my existing setup was subpar.

My personal “Wants” in a speaker

Basically a little bit of everything. In no particular order (other than music being #1):

1.) Music – I grew up listening to virtually everything. So I wanted speakers that were at least relatively flexible re: genre.
2.) PC – Once again, I’m space constrained at the moment, so they’d be plugged into the ‘ole Hercules Game Theater XP I still run.
3.) Movies – I also love movies, so good performance here is also a must.

Also – as an overarching MUST, I wanted speakers that would be neutral. Back when I was messing around with protools and had the use of some studio monitors, I grew to love as well as appreciate speakers that didn’t color material.

Research