PDA

View Full Version : Just set up my 340's: volume concern

watsonusn
02-25-2007, 12:27 PM
hi,
I could be way off base here, im a complete newb to this. I set up my 340SE's last night, (LCR) to a Onkyo 604 receiver. I ran the auto setup. My center channel is much louder than the Left or Right. The left and right almost sound as if they are fading in & out, & are much lower than the center.
Currently the only source i have hooked up is my Comcast Motorola Cable box via optical. I realize that tv is primarily center channel (dialog), but i put it on some of the music channels in the 900ish channel area (not to be confused with MTV, FUSE, etc), and its still mostly all the center.
I dont have a dedicated cd player, the best i can do is either a PS3, Xbox 360, or a Onkyo 404 series dvd player.
So is this normal, the center being primary & the L/R being fillers?
Is it the simple fact that my source is the cable box?
Or am i completely off base?
Thanks,
-DW

drewface
02-25-2007, 12:42 PM
the center channel in my setup tends to sound significantly louder than the other speakers in my setup, even when i'm running a dedicated cd player through 7-channel stereo. it seems strange to me at times, but i think a big part of it is because the center channel gets a mix of both sides, so it's actually putting out more sound information than the right/left speakers.

i could be wrong on this, but overall my system sounds good, so i don't worry about it too much. maybe someone else can comment who has more knowledge on the subject

bikeman
02-25-2007, 12:51 PM
hi,
I could be way off base here, im a complete newb to this. I set up my 340SE's last night, (LCR) to a Onkyo 604 receiver. I ran the auto setup. My center channel is much louder than the Left or Right. The left and right almost sound as if they are fading in & out, & are much lower than the center.