PDA

View Full Version : Speaker placement for 6.1 set up

ascottmichael
02-04-2006, 03:25 PM
I'm new to HT and after combing through a few AV forums I'm starting with a Pany xr55 6 channel digital amp, the STF-2 and eventually a set of 6 Ascend speakers, they are on order. 340SE center, 170SE front, and HTM-200 side surround and rear center. About $1500 for what I hope to be awesome HT experience. I know it should blow away any of those package brands from retail stores. :D

I could use advise on set up for 6.1 HT system. The problem is positioning surround speakers in room with severe limitations on wall mounting.

I'm thinking of putting surround speakers on 40" Omnimount 300 stands about midway between TV and rear wall.

Will there still be good surround effect with middle surround only slightly above ear level? :confused:

The alternative is to mount side surround about 7.5' on sides, which is the only available wall space on the sides.

Would they angle toward center of room or straight across at each other? There is no wall mount area on sidewalls, wall a is sliding glass doors, wall c is mostly open with column in middle.

I could mount center rear channel on rear wall about 5 or 6' high.
Is there a recommended height for rear center channel, and should it be angled down or straight forward?

I could pull couch away from rear wall, what is recommended for distance from rear center speaker to listening position? I need to keep 9' between screen and seating area for best viewing of edtv 42" screen, the pixels are too large if you sit close.

I'll try the STF-2 with my current NHT 1.3 satelites until the Ascends arrive. Should be a good match. Dr Hsu told me where to position the speaker in my weird room setup.

Any input about successful set up is appreciated.
Thanks, it seems like this will be a lot of fun!

Scott

bikeman
02-04-2006, 04:48 PM