PDA

View Full Version : First time installing speaker wire

mcwildcat
11-22-2005, 07:03 PM
Hey everyone. I posted this on avsforum and got some good responses. I wanted to post it here as well since I'm getting ready to buy Ascends and I thought it would make sense to get feedback from some Ascend owners.

This is my first time installing speaker wire.

The way my home theater is set up has the tv, receiver, and everything else located on an island in the middle of my living room. That means I can't run the speaker wire for the rear speakers around baseboards on sidewalls. I'm going to have to run the speaker wire on the rears up the rear wall, onto the ceiling, and then down the front wall and into the receiver (Panny XR55). Also, the right rear speaker will likely be out from under the ceiling where the living room vaults up into the loft. So, for the right rear, I'll have to run speaker wire along side the rear wall until I get under the ceiling, and then run up the rear wall, onto the ceiling, and down the front wall and into the receiver.

Do you all have suggestions for how I can best conceal the speaker wire? My walls are all white. Distance should be less than 20 feet although I haven't measured exactly yet. I know there is flat wire speaker that adheres to the wall but I'm thinking I won't be able to use that, at least for the right rear, as the wire is going to have to angle to go from the side and up onto the ceiling (i.e. it won't be a straight line). I assume that the flat speaker wire is designed to adhere to surfaces when you're going in a straight line and not when the wire needs to angle in certain spots.

I've also heard about channels you can get, paint, and adhere to the wall, then run your speaker wire through. Are these a better idea than flat speaker wire? If so, can anyone recommend something specific as far as brand/product?