PDA

View Full Version : Getting started with room treatments

Kershek
07-12-2005, 04:38 PM
Ok, I ordered my speakers and now I want to test my room to see what I can do to improve the acoustics. I am a beginner and don't know what equipment I need. Based on what I've read in other posts, my goal is to get a flat response across the spectrum for best sound. Can anyone give me tips or web site links to get me started? Also, what do I need to do the sound testing?

Eddie Horton
07-12-2005, 06:00 PM
Here's a couple of good web site to get you started. www.ethanwiner.com/acoustics.html
www.tmlaboratories.com

Kurt C.
07-28-2005, 12:44 PM
OK, after reading the websites of Ethan Weiner, Terry Montlick and a bunch of others, I'm convinced that I need a minimum of 2-inch thick fiberglass or acoustic cotton panels at the sites of first relection on my walls and ceiling.

I'd like to find a relatively inexpensive place to order several sound absorbing panels. (No, I can't take any of the DIY options because I have no power tools and prefer not to get fiberglass fibers all over my house)

The most reasonable source I've found, about $60 for each panel plus $$$ for shipping something so bulky is:

Fabric-wrapped fiberglass panels (http://sensiblesoundsolutions.com/product_info.php?cPath=21&products_id=42)

Thoughts, comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

BradJudy
07-28-2005, 01:07 PM
I have done business with Sensible Sound Solutions and I'm currently working on doing treatments in my own room.

Another option is Gik - http://www.gikacoustics.com who sells 2" and 4" thick mineral wool panels. They have pretty good prices and a flat shipping rate listed with each product. Their 2" panels work out to about $56 each including shipping (they come in 3-packs). (~$70/ea for 4" panels in two-packs)

jermy4
07-28-2005, 04:25 PM